WhatsApp is introducing a new privacy feature for Android beta users that gives users more control over certain chats.
Released as Restricted Chat, the toggle hides chat messages from view on connected devices, so private messages stay limited to the primary smartphone.
Initially called “Advanced Chat Privacy,” Meta renamed the new feature “Restricted Chat” in order to disambiguate it from end-to-end encryption, which securely encrypts all normal personal chats by default.
What Happens When You Enable Restricted Chat?
Turning on this feature enforces tight privacy restrictions on all participants in a single conversation:
When activated, chat will no longer be available to other hardware (laptop/tablets/website browser) and is only available to the primary smartphone.
No Gallery Backups The media that is shared inside the access-restricted thread will not be saved to your photo gallery automatically.
chat history cannot be exported by the users.
Meta AI integration and automation are entirely disabled at the conversation level.
Why Is WhatsApp Restricting Linked Devices?
The migrated to block linked devices, the behavior is used for a purpose: Whether it is a third-party messenger, another non-official WhatsApp client or external AI bot, they all depend on the protocol of the linked device to get data from your account.
Then WhatsApp disables reading those insecure chats by cutting off the thread of restricted accounts to connected devices-or other gadgets.
It won’t let a third-party application or second piece of hardware read your private discussions, even if you have that app installed on your phone.
How to Enable Restricted Chat on Android
The feature is live for testing on Android Beta 2.26.39.11 through the Google Play Store on a limited set of testers:
To lock a single WhatsApp chat. Launch the WhatsApp chat you intend to secure.
Tap on the contact name at the top of the message window to go to the Chat Info screen.
Toggle on Restricted Chat (disabled by default).
When activated, a notification will appear in the chat window to let you know that all messages can only be sent and received on the main mobile device.

